Lovell Home Lovell Banner 1 Skip Down
Lovell Contractors, Inc.; Address: 1681 Hull Road; Mason MI 48854; Phone: 517-676-8895; Fax: 517-676-8846
Home

General Information

Testimonials
Solden
Howard
Moore
Brustad
Willis
Bejin
Tyler
Hoban
Anderson
Goldstein
Rose
Leak
Weiser
Fteteh

Photo Gallery

Contact Us

Downloads

Site Links

Space white Vertical Space white

Testimonials

Email From: Dean Solden
Date: March 20, 2010
To: Kevin Lovell
Subject: notes from Dean Solden

Kevin

I just wanted to let you know how much I am enjoying working with your team at Lovell Construction and pleased with the process we are going through.

Everyone has been great Jim, Jay, Doug. Jay worked well with me through the estimating stage, as we had a few versions of "value engineering" and got the prices down; Jim has been reasonable on the change orders, not nickel and diming every little thing; and Doug has made good decisions in the field, waiting for direction when he wasnít sure of something, but moving ahead when he needed to keep things going. And they all have been very pleasant to work with.

Communication has been clear, things are moving quickly, and there has been no drama. And Iím enjoying the process.

I also want you to know that Jay has been excellent in doing the repairs at Durand (although I havenít [been] sent the bill yet!). He was fast and efficient and fixed a resident room right away, which is important because someone is living in there.

I know mostly contractors get complaints, but I wanted to let you know how happy I am.

Thanks,

Dean Solden

President, Solden Development Company
4488 Jackson Road, Suite 2
Ann Arbor, MI 48103


Flagstar Bank
301 W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson MI 49201

October 29, 2008

Dear Kevin:

I would like to say how much I like the work you have done for Flagstar. I know I can count on your company to do a good job when given, and you are professional to work with.

Thank you,

Scot Howard
Property Manager

[Go to photo gallery for Flagstar Bank project.]


From: Susan Moore
To: jim marquis
Cc: Leon Moore
Sent: Tuesday, August 05, 2008 8:25 AM
Subject: Moore job

Hi Jim,

Thanks for all the work and responding so quickly to everything. Your guys did a great job, and were nice to work with. We will certainly be recommending your crew and company to anyone needing work.

There is some vinyl siding left on the patio, should we keep that?

Also, don't forget the I-beam in our front yard is yours if you want it.

Can you send your final bill, so I can write you a check.

-- Susan Moore
Mckinley Brokerage Services


Ilona & Orin Brustad
Ann Arbor, MI 48105

December 8,2007

To prospective customers of Lovell Contractors, Inc.

In 2007 we hired Kevin Lovell and his company to do extensive interior renovations to two rooms in our home. Some other friends had used him for a larger project and they were very satisfied with the work he had done.

Basically Kevin's workers gutted two rooms down to the outside wall, added insulation and waterproofing, drywalled walls and ceilings, built custom cabinets, hung doors and made two very nice spaces for us to use as (1) a library and (2) an exercise equipment room. In the process he solved some challenging heating and lighting problems.

Kevin's workers were reliable and first rate; they left the work site clean and took great pains to keep interference with our daily lives to a minimum. The workers were also trustworthy and were able to complete most of the work while we were traveling out of the area.

While we had an interior designer working with Kevin, he and his workers made numerous helpful suggestions as to materials, layout, and basic design options. He took the time to look at the rest of our home and furnishings and the end product reflected exactly what we had hoped to achieve.

The woodwork was especially well done and the carpenter came back to the site to make adjustments when summer humidity made some of his precision doors stick. Hinges were concealed, useful storage was created out of crawl-spaces and a combination of hooks and cubicles have turned an old junk closet into a place for organized storage of boots and winter clothes.

Throughout the project, Kevin visited the site to see how things were going. At the end, he waited several hours for the building inspector and got everything approved. The total cost was very reasonable and we are very happy to recommend him for any residential project you may be considering.

Orin Brustad


December 8, 2006

Kevin,

I am writing this letter to express our extreme satisfaction with the recent physical therapy build out you completed at our Brighton facility. As you recall, the project was tight on cost and timing, and included the complication of working with separate tenant contractors. I was very impressed with the proactive approach you took in getting the job done with high quality, and on time and budget. I also appreciated that you reviewed the tenant contractor's work and alerted us to any possible risks to our building that came up during the course of the pool installation.

Our Brighton facility is a project my partners and I do part time in addition to our full time jobs. The integrity and diligence shown during the physical therapy build out is exactly what we are looking for. Thank you for a job well done, we look forward to working with you in the future.

Scott A. Willis
Vice President
SJS Development Co., Inc.


August 15, 2005

To: Whom it may concern
RE: Recommendation of Lovell Contractors, Inc. and Kevin Lovell

It is with pleasure that I offer my highest recommendation for Lovell Contractors, Inc. and Kevin Lovell. I have known and worked with Kevin for the past five years, providing space planning and interior design for a broad scope of projects from minor remodeling to major reconstruction as well as new construction. We have collaborated on both residential and commercial projects.

I have found Kevin and his company to be very professional, adhering to high standards of workmanship and punctuality. He has conducted his business with integrity and concern for his clients. I believe his pricing structure is very fair and represents great value.

I have recommended his company to my clients and plan to use him for some of my own projects.

Please feel free to contact me for any additional information.

Sincerely,

Susan K. Bejin
Senior Designer
SKB Design Associates


August 15, 2005

To Whom It May Concern:

This letter of recommendation is written, enthusiastically, to provide the reader with a perspective on the quality of work consistently performed by Mr. Kevin Lovell, principal of Lovell Contractors Inc.

I have known Mr. Lovell for over ten years. This longstanding relationship can be characterized as one imbued with straight forward integrity and commitment to excellence.

My working experience with Mr. Lovell is one in which a wide range of challenging construction projects were undertaken by him on behalf of the company, McKinley Inc., of which I was an owner but now retired. McKinley manages over 17,000 apartment units and 4.5 million square feet of office and commercial. Mr. Lovell and his company consistently had a role in taking care of generally routine construction projects to ones of significant complexity.

What sets Mr. Lovell apart from many contractors is not the timeliness and cost effectiveness with which he regularly completed the more routine type construction contracts but the creativity and imagination, along with these attributes he brought to very challenging undertakings. One specific example is his role in the conversion of the abandoned Chelsea Clock Tower Building, Chelsea, Michigan into an elegant office building. The craftsmanship to be observed in this first class property reflects the quality of work for which Mr. Lovell is noted along with evidence of his creative gifts.

Since retiring from McKinley, my new career has been renovating tired residential homes in Ann Arbor. Undertaking these renovation projects on a speculative basis demands extra attention to cost, ability to provide imaginative value enhancing ideas, and, naturally, deliver prompt completion. For one house that has been completed, two that are 70% finished, and one new spec house on which construction is about to start, I have chosen Mr. Lovell as the contractor.

Quality and creativity are common to any job in which I have observed Mr. Lovell's involvement. Reliability is his trademark.

If I can provide any further elaboration on Mr. Lovell's qualifications as a first rate contractor/builder, please call me at xxx-xxx-xxxx or submit an email inquiry to: xxxx@xxxxx.xxx.

Very Truly Yours,

William C. Tyler


July 27, 2005

Kevin,

I would just like to thank you for the wonderful job that you did in building out my Physical Therapy clinic. I was very impressed with your commitment to staying true to how I wanted the look to be as well as staying cost-effective. Jim Marquis and you both showed more customer service than any other contractor I have ever worked with. I could always reach you easily and Jim came to my other place of business whenever I couldn't get away and talk about a decision that needed to be made.

I also wanted to thank you for finding a balance between the upgrades to the space that I wanted and how you could help me keep them in my budget. I appreciate the fact that you were respectful of the budget I had, while also taking pride in making the place look great. I was truly amazed at how you finished the job a week early (I have never had a build-out finish early) and was always impressed when I would stop by the clinic to see that there were constantly 3-6 people working on the site.

I plan to use you for all of my further projects and I just wish that I had the chance to work with you earlier - it would have made my life a lot easier! If you ever want to use me for a reference in the future, please feel free to contact me.

Thanks again,

Patrick Hoban, PT, MS, OCS, ATC; Owner
Great Lakes Institute of Manual Therapy


July 23, 2005

To Whom It May Concern:
Re: Letter of Recommendation, Lovell Construction Company

I began working with Kevin Lovell in June of 2004 for a construction build out for my business. This was a 9000 sq. ft. job, with specific requirements and particular applications for a proprietary school.

As a business owner, it is sometimes a challenge to convey the intricate needs of how your business will function in a new space. What I found most helpful and reassuring in working with Kevin and his group of professionals, was their ability to listen to my descriptions or requests. From there they transformed those items into tangible and functional ideas that are wonderful to work in or look at.

His group came up with many cost effective solutions that are designed for both function and esthetics. It came across perfectly in my classrooms, offices, retail store, and treatment rooms.

My request to create a space that was cost effective, inviting and just a pleasure to be in was always everyone's mindset as the job progressed. Kevin's Project Manager attended to the job as if it were his own, meeting deadlines as needed for all inspections. As always we were in constant communication to bring the job in on budget.

Overall the project was a success, as each person enters my space they feel welcomed, and the compliments on how "nice''the space is are a regular topic.

I am more than happy to respond to any follow-up correspondence about Lovell Construction either by phone or email.

Jane Anderson
Director, and Owner
School of Orthopedic Massage & Body Work
Ann Arbor, MI


March 15, 2005

Dear Kevin,

We would like to take this opportunity to express our thanks and gratefulness for the work that was done at our home on Madison Street in Ann Arbor. The addition that was added to our existing home was done with the finest and highest quality workmanship and craftsmanship. Although, connecting the new addition to our old home was not an easy task and met with many challenges you braved through it and made it happen with thought and wisdom. Throughout the time that you were doing this expansion it was very reassuring to know that you were available and sensitive to our needs. Also, you and your staff are the finest and expertise in the field of construction. You never comprised by delivering inferior quality, material and work.

Your kind and easy going personality was a pleasure. You demonstrated your kindness by the way you cared about every detail of the project.

We highly recommend you and your company for future clients.

Our best wishes for continued success, good health and happiness. We look forward to doing future projects with you and your staff.

Sincerely yours,

Rabbi Aharon & Esther Goldstein
Chabad Congregation
Ann Arbor, Michigan


Dear Kevin,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the magnificent job you did in our downtown Jackson location. To see the site today and what it looked like last May would confound most people. Given the immenseness of the project I was pleasantly surprised that it was done on time. To be able to turn the dirty, broken up space of the three buildings into the beautiful center we enjoy was no small task and speaks very highly of your company. We have received numerous compliments from our students, staff, as well as business leaders from the Jackson community.

You were a delight to work with as was your foreman Jim. Problems were resolved quickly and to our satisfaction. Everyone was cooperative when we visited during the construction phases. They were courteous to us answering our questions and never leaving us with the feeling we were a burden or an interruption.

I am looking for additional space for our Lansing operation and will ask the owner to use your company if at all possible. Please feel free to refer potential customers to me if they have any questions.

Once again let me thank you for a job well done!

Sincerely,

Phillip Rose
Regional Director, Spring Arbor University
y (circa 2005)


September 10, 2003

To whom it may concern:

My experience working with Lovell Contractors, Inc. has been very positive. The crew leaders where very knowledgeable and addressed issues with a positive attitude, often having solutions or alternatives to recommend that were very workable and pleasing solutions. Their integrity and quality of work is admirable. Kevin Lovell supported his crew leaders and went out of his way to address field issues as they developed, often times working "in good faith' to keep the construction progress moving forward while final negotiations were still underway. I look forward to the opportunity to work with Lovell Contractors, Inc. in the future.

Sincerely.

Randy Leak
Construction Administrator
Dimitrios Economides Assoc. P.C. Architects


Ronald Weiser, Ambassador of the United States of
America & Mrs Eileem Lappin Weiser
Ann Arbor, MI 48105

April 24,2003

To Whom It May Concern:

The purpose of this letter is to give an honest recommendation for the character and quality service which kevin Lovell and Lovell Contractors provides.

I am employed by US Ambassador Weiser and Mrs. Weiser as a direct report to handle their personal matters. As founder of an engineering firm, co-founder of a marketing company, an executive officer for a national systems company and owner of a systems consulting company, I have more than twenty years of experience leading all functions of business and doing community service work.

Over the last couple of years Kevin Lovell has provided General Contractor services on multiple sites for the Ambassador. During this time he has proven to be a man of the highest character and integrity in all his relationships and business dealings.

I have had the opportunity to work with Kevin Lovell and his staff on a regular daily basis. If you ask him or his staff to accomplish something or give them any specific task, large or small, you can be absolutely sure it will get done as promised. He is knowledgeable, resourceful and conscientiously follows through on every detail. His staff is talented and knowledgeable. Lovell Contractors does quality craftsmanship.

In working for the Ambassador, it is common to have a number of demanding, challenging and sensitive projects with critical timelines. From the start to the finish of what many would consider impossible tasks, I have the luxury of knowing Mr. Lovell will stick to it until it is done.

My observation and experience is that Kevin Lovell demonstrates a high degree of competence, knowledge, accountability, commitment and dependability. I also appreciate his professionalism and that he is a team player.

Mr. Lovell exhibits dedication and confidentiality regarding his work and relationships. Kevin has demonstrated an amazingly positive attitude and willingness to go the extra mile.

Sincerely,

Mark A. Adolf Personal Assistant to US Ambassador Ronald Weiser and Mrs. Eileen Weiser


June 16, 1999

To Mr. Larry Lawless,
McKinley Properties

Dear Mr. Lawless,

It is a pleasure to report that the fire restoration work has been completed at 2429 Wells Rd. to everybody's satisfaction. Lovell Construction did a very nice job completing the work properly, with a beautiful result and on schedule. In addition to the high quality workmanship of Lovell Construction, Kevin Lovell was very conscientious, courteous and willing to go the extra mile to please the customer (Monroe CMH Authority). The residents and staff of the home as well as myself appreciate the professionalism exhibited by Lovell Construction.

Regards,

William H. Fteteh, MS
Environmental Manager/Safety Officer
Monroe Community Mental Health Authority


* [Home] * [General Info] * [Testimonials] * [Photo Gallery] * [Contact Us] * [Downloads] * [Privacy Policy] * [Top] *